Summer Palace Facts
The Summer Palace (Yíhé Yuán in Chinese meaning the Garden of Nurtured
Harmony) is a palace dominated by the 60-meter-high (197 feet) Longevity Hill and the Kunming
The building, constructed in 1750, covers an area of 70,000 square meters
and contains a variety of palaces, gardens, and other structures.
Notable structures in the Summer Palace include the 17-arch bridge with 500
engraved lions, the Cloud-Dispelling Hall, Tower of Buddha Incense, Garden of Harmonious
Interests, and the Jade Belt Bridge.
The Duobao Glazed Pagoda is located at the top of the Longevity Hill and the
Marble Boat, at the foot. About 14,000 paintings, each completely unique, decorate the Summer
Palace, many of them on the "Long Corridor" walkway along the lake.
The Summer Palace of Beijing is a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1998.
The Summer Palace is open for visits every day starting 8:30 AM until 16:30
in the winter and 17:30 in the summer.
Entrance costs between 30 yuan and 40 yuan depending on the season. You can
purchase a map of the palace for an additional 10 yuan. Guided tours cost 100 yuan.
Summer Palace Map&Location
Summer Palace Address:
View Larger Map
Summer Palace Photos
Click on the images to enlarge
Summer Palace Garden