Lennoxlove Castle History
Lennox Castle or
Castle was named after the
Duchess of Lennox – the model for Britannia on pre-decimal coins.
Previously known as Lethington Castle,
it was the seat of the Maitlands.
The 15th century tower has a double storey cap house
and corbelled parapet. The 1670s east wing was remodeled in the early 19th
passed to Lord Blantyre in the 18th century, and in 1900 to Sir David
Baird. His son, William, employed Robert Lorimer to restore the building. The Duke of Hamilton
bought the castle in 1946.
Castle guided tours commence in the front hall, ascending
the main stair to the China Room. A bedroom contains a unique four-poster gifted by Princess
Pauline, sister of Napoleon.
The Stewart room has portraits of the monarchs; the
Damask room a table gifted by Charles II. The Yellow Sitting Room and Blue Room are, like the
rest of the castle, adorned with portraits.
The old tower contains relics of Mary, Queen of
Scots, including her death mask, ring and casket. A side room contains bagpipes, swords and
pipes. The 37ft deep well is passed on the way to the vaulted great hall, which is a
magnificent room with Flemish tapestries and large fireplace. The Bairds added the
The spiral stair descends to the lower vault, now
converted to a chapel. Here also is the original gate and
A passage with funeral lozenges leads to the 10th
century room, which contains mementoes of the Dukes of Hamilton, the Nazi Rudolph Hess, the
first flight over Everest, and a collection of early 20th century
Lennox Castle Address: Glen Rd, Lennoxtown, Glasgow,
East Dunbartonshire G66 7LA, UK
View Larger Map